Six-pack Saturday

Life is full of paradoxes here are six that drive me crazy–

1) I don’t know what I don’t know. Even when I realize I’m missing parts of the puzzle–it’s still impossible to figure out what they are.

This particular conundrum applies to everything. At the moment, it’s a replace or repair decision on the garbage disposal. And do I consult a plumber or an electrician? Before I call anyone I have to clean the under the kitchen sink cabinet….

2) People are both unique and similar. Their outsides are real different. Yet, I know their insides are all much the same. And their insides are what count. As a writer, I need a firm grip on this subject on it’s slippery.

3) The more I study anything, the more complex the subject becomes. This translates to one of life’s basic frustrations–the more I learn the less I know. People fascinate me and baffle me. Real life people are inconsistent. Whereas, fictional people need strong motivation to behave out of character because fiction has to make more sense than real life.

4) Writing for publication has lots of levels to it. I don’t know everything about this business (see number one above). But, I have learned a few things. Success has many factors but there are baseline requirements. Clean manuscripts, correctly spelled, punctuated, and formatted are job one.

By the time a writer gets to the level where professional editors are cheerfully catching her mundane errors, she won’t need them. Editor’s have other jobs.

5) To break into mass market publishing one needs a good agent. Good agents are busy working for established authors. Therefore a high powered agent is difficult for an unknown to acquire. Obviously, there are exceptions–every single author on the New York Times best seller list started out as a newbie.

6) Time and money are trade off commodities. Money isn’t easy to make, but time can’t be made at all. Everyone gets the same twenty-four hours each day.

Feel free to share your frustrations.

Leave a Reply

